Are You a Church or Are You a Club?

Though our son’s autism, and through the suffering of other Christians, we are coming to see what Piper is talking about here. Namely that the true church bears the burdens of believers, and the goats tend to their own needs. It has broken our hearts to see that many we assumed were disciples of Christ are deaf to His call to lend their resources, not just financial, but also emotional and even just plain time, energy and consideration, to believers who are ‘struck’.

It has lead us to the questions inherent in this blog, “Where is the church?” “Who is the church?”

Piper lets you know one way we can figure out who the church is:

Are you the church? Are you my church?

Author: Ginger Taylor

I am a thirty something wife of a wonderful man and mother to two beautiful boys. I am a Johns Hopkins educated family therapist with a current case load of one, my autistic son Chandler. I want to God and what He really has to say to us and especially what He really wants from me. I approach Scripture from the Reformed perspective of Luther and Calvin and those that followed them, and encourage lively debate here at Daily Discernment.

2 thoughts on “Are You a Church or Are You a Club?”

  1. I’m not only your church, baby, I’m your leader. Okay, maybe not. We have had the same issues here at our current church. For the first time in my life, everyone and anyone I meet in our church can’t be assumed to have the same doctrine and theology I was so blessed to have in VA. That’s not to say we don’t have some awesome believers in our midst, but its tough to realize that being a Christian means a 100 billion things that have nothing to do with Christ……

  2. Jax, you are so my church.

    Re: the hundred billion things that have nothing to do with Christ… do we think we can fool him?

    I was thinking about people who are warping what God said to suit their own desires, people who fully know better, and it occurred to me…. do they think they are fooling God? Do they think He is up there saying to Himself, “Well, I know I said that unrepentant sinners were bound for eternal damnation, but maybe I didn’t really mean it… maybe Sally is right and what I really want is for her to get what she wants so she can be happy. Yeah sure, Job was super obedient and still I blasted him for merely questioning my judgment about letting him get so sick and letting his whole family die. And I mean I totally did used to rain down fire in the Old Testament when people rebelled against me or mistreated my chosen people, but maybe I really didn’t need to satisfy my justice so much as I just needed a hug. Sally has given me a lot to think about, maybe I do need to lighten up”.

    Don’t get me wrong… I have been through flat out violent rebellion in my life, but I have never been able to trick myself into thinking that God was OK with it… I just ran an hid from Him. (‘Cause you know if you hide real good He can’t see you are in sin).

    The loving Jesus of the New Testament was the exact same God of the Old Testament, and they are both VERY hug up on not having their judgments second guessed or their words altered.

    Rev 21:27
    nothing unclean, and no one who practices abomination and lying, shall ever come into it, but only those whose names are written in the Lamb’s book of life.

    Deuteronomy 4:2
    You shall not add to the word which I am commanding you, nor take away from it, that you may keep the commandments of the LORD your God which I command you.

    Deuteronomy 12:32
    Whatever I command you, you shall be careful to do; you shall not add to nor take away from it.

Leave a Reply

