Thank You to Jim at Old Truth

Jim Bublitz at Old Truth is signing off.  His health has declined to the point that he can no longer blog.  If you have not read Old Truth, spend some time there.  Jim has left volumes of wisdom for us.  He will be sorely missed and we hope that he will be able to come back.

Thank You Jim, for all you have given us.

Yours was the first good Christian blog I found after struggling in and freeing myself from a ‘church growth’ church.  You made me realize that I was not crazy, and that something really was wrong and you inspired me to start writing about it.

I am the mother of a child with autism, and have come to understand the horrible wonderful struggle of living with a disabling illness, though not my own, and while I hate that it has taking you from writing, I am selfishly grateful to God for the burden He has placed on you.  The fruit that it has born in your life fed me when I was starving.  And I hope that I can one day I will be mature enough emulate the grace that you have shown while carrying your burden.

While you will not be able to share your  insights with us now, God himself is still your ‘audience’.  There is a quote from Hinds Feet on High Places that has meant the world to me in the times that I have suffered and remained faithful to Him when I was alone:

“Much-Afraid looked at the Shepherd. “Sometimes I have wondered about the wild flowers,” she said. “It seems strange that they should grow in places like this where the goats and cattle walk all over them. They have so much beauty and sweetness to give, and hardly anyone sees them.”

The look the Shepherd turned on her was very beautiful. “Nothing My Father and I have made is ever wasted,” He said quietly, “and the wild flowers have a wonderful lesson to teach. Many people live a quiet, ordinary life. Hardly anyone even knows about them, but inside their hearts it is like a delightful garden where the King Himself walks and rejoices. Some of My servants have won great respect from other people and are famous, but always their greatest victories are like the wild flowers, those which no one knows about. Learn this lesson now, down here in the Valley, Much-Afraid, and when you get to the steep places of the mountains it will comfort you.”

I know that this cannot be a happy time for you, but I truly pray that it is a rich time for you.  That God discloses more and more of Himself to you with an increasingly profound intimacy.

And I hope that you get some rest.

Ginger Taylor

Author: Ginger Taylor

I am a thirty something wife of a wonderful man and mother to two beautiful boys. I am a Johns Hopkins educated family therapist with a current case load of one, my autistic son Chandler. I want to God and what He really has to say to us and especially what He really wants from me. I approach Scripture from the Reformed perspective of Luther and Calvin and those that followed them, and encourage lively debate here at Daily Discernment.

Leave a Reply

