First Order of Business… The Good Stuff

Hebrews 5:11-14

Concerning him we have much to say, and it is hard to explain, since you have become dull of hearing. For though by this time you ought to be teachers, you have need again for someone to teach you the elementary principles of the oracles of God, and you have come to need milk and not solid food.  For everyone who partakes only of milk is not accustomed to the word of righteousness, for he is an infant.

But solid food is for the mature, who because of practice have their senses trained to discern good and evil.

One of the most unfortunate things about the church in American today is that there is so much imitation, powdered milk being offered from the local pulpit.

The most delicious thing about this interwebular area is that whole worlds of really great bible teaching is out there, beautifully arranged ones and zeros just ripe for the picking by anyone with an internet connection.  So the biggest part of this blog will be pointing hungry believers who want to grow big and strong to the meat.

These  posts will be easy to find as they will all be under the category called:  Meat!

In this post lucky reader, I am not just pointing you toward a mere steak, not even about a whole side of beef, but an entire pasture, as far as the eye can see, just full of big fat cattle.  Your own personal free heard of cattle!

Reformed Theological Seminary, R.C. Sproul’s Seminary, offer’s a Master’s of Religion online.  When I found out about it last year I had hoped to be able to enroll, however being the parents of an autistic child proved to be cost prohibitive (and time prohibitive as stuff comes up with Chandler and I have to drop everything else and see to his needs).

But then something magical happened.  RTS decided to put all their lectures for all of their classes for the degree, plus a bunch more, on I Tunes!  For free!

http://itunes.rts.edu/

I actually burst into tears when I saw it.

So this month I get to start getting my pretend Masters of Religion.  If anyone wants to join me in pretending to master religion, let me know.

If you are not ready to take on years of classes, perhaps I could suggest a month of classes.

Tom Browning is the pastor of Arlington Presbyterian Church in Arlington Texas and he has done a really good series on the book of Romans.  It is a 43 part series, so suffice it to say, it is an in depth study.

Scott and I are finishing it up now, and by that I mean that Scott finished it three weeks ago and I still have 11 sermons to listen to.

Browning treatment of the material is smart, understandable and moving.  Your iPod needs this series.

Author: Ginger Taylor

I am a thirty something wife of a wonderful man and mother to two beautiful boys. I am a Johns Hopkins educated family therapist with a current case load of one, my autistic son Chandler. I want to God and what He really has to say to us and especially what He really wants from me. I approach Scripture from the Reformed perspective of Luther and Calvin and those that followed them, and encourage lively debate here at Daily Discernment.

Leave a Reply

